Best & Worst Films of 2011

2011m as far as films go it hasn’t really been the best for me personally. However there were a few golden gems. So to start off, with the best films.

Number 5: Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 2

This film had everything the last harry potters were missing. A lot of action! The special effects were incredible, the story-line was dark, I was completely in awe of this film, considering I didn’t think much of the Harry Potter series before. However there were a few set-backs, one major plot-hole for me was the deathly hallows themselves. It didn’t quite explain anything in the film, as far as I gather from the book, the Deathly Hallows meant he could survive Voldemort’s attack. Which is why he had choice to go back in his death scene. Nevertheless great end to the franchise.

Number 4: Super-8

I really enjoyed this film, it had much less focus on the actual alien and more on the human emotion. This I like, and not only that, the actors really outdid themselves (whom were only about 14 and under). The effects was good and the score was brilliantly composed.

Number 3: Thor

Amazing film, brilliantly directed without being another cheesy comic adaptation like most are. I really enjoyed this considering I went into the cinema thinking I probably wont like it.

Number 2: Melancholia

Fantastic imagery and great story-telling. Trier’s film was the most talked about film in the industry. Featuring Kristen Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg. Melancholia casted a new light on depression which was bold, daring but at the same time a huge success. If you have not already seen this, please do. But bare in mind this film is not a blockbuster it’s not for everyone.

Number 1: Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes.

Easily my favourite film this year. After seeing the trailer my first thought of the film was “really?” but I was completely wrong. The performances was just out of this world, Andy Serkis really needs an oscar. The directer and writers managed to take a very out-dated and poor concept into something that was fresh and fantastic. I’m really looking forward to the sequel.

 

And the Fails of this year. I wont number them because there all just as bad as each other.

Worst films.

Source Code: I was confused, it didn’t really capture me. I was just plain bored.

Cowboys & Aliens: Had no real story-line, no real characters. It was so bad, it shouldn’t even be on this list, because this waste of precious film should never of been made.

In Time: A good concept. But thats all it ever was. The film never reached it’s potential, if it had any. It felt like a GCSE student got given a camera and thought WOW. That student then had a great idea which was executed so poorly, he had to bullshit his way to an A* by claiming the same old shit that it, ‘explores our commercial-based society’, blah blah fucking blah.

Rubber: A murderous tyre (that’s right, a tyre) that goes on a killing rampage. Dare I say more? – Although it does have a cult-feel to it, I’m sure there’s a group of Hipsters out there that love it.

Leave a Reply

